Is One Crazier Than The Other?

I have been thinking about the intellectual, philosophical, and plain bickering going on between Atheists and Theists. Atheists call Theists defending their beliefs insane and Theists call Atheists insane for not realizing the “truth” of God. My personal opinion is that believing in a supernatural being that created the world in 6 days, who led 600,000 people out of Egypt, who always watches over us, and not a shred of physical proof is a bit irrational to say the least. But, that is my opinion. Anyway I came up with a parallel that I think will intrigue you.
Take for example a group, many of you are aware of, the Scientologists . Here is what they believe:
Scientologists ACTUALLY believe the evil alien ruler Xenu killed a lot of aliens (Thetans) from around the universe by bringing them to earth & blowing them up inside volcanoes. They believe the souls of these aliens (these souls are “Body Thetans”) have attached themselves to us & cause many of our mental & physical ills. Members who know about Xenu will attempt to deny it or pretend like it doesn’t matter. They are required to sign a contract binding them to silence on the matter. Lower level members don’t know about Xenu & accordingly deny everything because they honestly don’t know.

To rid ourselves of “Body Thetans” & also “engrams” (past negative experiences stored in our unconscious mind) so that we can become “clear”, we have to go through “auditing” with a member of the “church” who uses an “e-meter” to measure our “reactive mind”…… & we have to pay lots & lots of money for “auditing” (purchased in 12.5-hour blocks, costing anywhere from $750 for introductory sessions to between $8,000 & $9,000 for advanced sessions) & to take courses on Scientology to advance to higher “levels” in the “church”. The “church” has also taken a very hostile stance towards psychiatry & psychiatric drugs irrespective of the fact that some people require medication to remain adequately functional in everyday life. They deny the reality of chemical imbalance & profound mental disturbance & accordingly do NOTHING to effectively stabilize the dangerously unstable. The “church” has been known to withhold prescription pharmaceuticals from member (with deadly results).

Perhaps you’ll enjoy this video.

This sounds insane right, wrong! A Catholic, a Christian, a Jew, a Muslim, or a Buddhist would point to this and say that anyone who honestly believes in this is a complete nut. All these religions have their equal amount of lethal dogmas. However, to someone who doesn’t believe in any of it, it all sounds equally insane.
Just thought I would give you something to think about. Although, I am quite curious as to why one religion is more insane than another one.

4 thoughts on “Is One Crazier Than The Other?

    • Given today’s day and age, the spread of ideas, and the ease of communication I would say we do have much in common. I don’t hate religious people (I wouldn’t have a girlfriend if I did), but I do question religious beliefs. My larger issues come from the higher ups in organizations (like the Vatican). As you can see scientology has a slew of lethal beliefs (rejecting psychiatry and similar treatments) and running the Diametrics scam. However, so has Christianity (indulgences, telling people not to use condoms, etc.) Individually, I will agree that, for example, you and I have many similarities.
      My point is really that I do not like people promoting religious hatred, religious wars, and lethal dogmas. The average Christian does not do this.

    • There are many Atheists that do not do enough research and end up looking like fools. In any organization there are those that are bad apples, or under achievers. I try to do my best (I slip up, I am human after all) to do all the research I can and not to attack single people and their beliefs.
      Anyways, Thanks for your comment, I look forward to reading your blog!

Leave a Reply

